Foggy Death (1)

Darkness, No one, no sound. I’m running through the alley. I don’t know where I am. I just know I’ve to run as far and as fast as I can. I can feel his presence behind me. All around is a thick fog. But I know it isn’t an ordinary fog. I can smell death pouring out of it. I’m not running fast enough, he is getting closer. Every step I make to escape him is just another step he does to catch me. I can almost feel his long fingers catching me. I can see the end of the alley. Only few more steps and I’ll be OK, I know it. I know I can do it. I’m so close…  NO! Death is all around now. I’m not running fast enough. I’m so tired of running away, I’m doing it for such a long time. I want to stop.

I feel his hands on my left shoulder. I think about my sister who has been through so much things already. Will she be alright? The cold touch of a cylindrical device stops my reflexion as it hits my head. I feel myself falling slowly, so slowly on the ground. Lying here, I’m feeling a sticky fluid flowing out of the back of my head. Life is flowing out of me through this fluid. I suddenly feel exhausted. All I want is this to stop. Slowly, I feel my eyes closing themselves as my mind stop having thoughts. Everything goes blank.


 

“Gwen!Come over here!”

A tall man wearing a long coat is rushing to a body lying down the alley. The worried look his eyes are wearing is not good. Quickly, a woman joins him. She is smaller, with long brown hair and a black leather jacket.

“Oh my God, Jack!”

“We need to know what happened Gwen!”

“Is she really dead, Jack? Did You check?”

The man comes closer to the body. He squats near to it. Then, he puts his finger on the neck of the lying woman. His fingers are cold. Not surprising considering it is winter since a few weeks already. Wait a minute… How do I know that his fingers are cold? I can feel it. How can I feel that?! No… No, it can’t be! That can’t be me lying down here! The two people in the alley, Gwen and Jack as they called each other, they look like they know me. Is that possible? I don’t recognize them.

“There’s a tiny heart beat, Gwen! Call an ambulance!”

They seem to not notice me standing at a side of the alley. Am I a ghost? But he said I was alive. So what’s going on?! I can feel my throat knoting itself and starting to hurt. My eyes are starting to be wet by warm delicately salty tears. I can feel the drops of tears flowing down my face from my eyes to my cheek and then to each my mouth and my neck, tickling it. I have to calm myself down and think. I move my hand to my face, to wipe it. Then, I’m ready to start thinking. First thing I have to do is remembering who I am. But I have to do it by not letting this lying body alone. If it’s my body, I need to keep an eye on it. Maybe I will learn about me by staying around Gwen and Jack. They seem to know me quite well. Gwen, the woman, looks affected by me lying down here. And Jack, the man, looks quite preoccupied. I really need to find out what is happening to me.

Leave a comment